Nine African Nations Sign MoU to Protect Congo Basin

Nine African nations have signed a Memorandum of Understanding in Oyo, Republic of the Congo, to reduce global warming and improve local economies through a fund called Congo Basin Blue Fund. The nine nations include Angola, Chad, Morocco, Burundi, Central African Republic, Rwanda, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo.

The Republic of the Congo first introduced this concept at COP 22 in partnership with the Brazzaville Foundation. The Fund will concentrate on shifting Congo Basin economies from forestry to more sustainable renewable water resources of the Congo and its tributaries. The Fund will finance initiatives such as renewable energy, eco-tourism, river transport, infrastructure, etc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s